Skip to content
March 25, 2011 / Hannah

Success!

I’ve been experimenting with gluten free baking. I tried out some GF vegan ginger cookies tonight, and they are delish!  I used a recipe from Karina’s Kitchen, she has some great GF recipes I’ve been enjoying…

I did use some different flours than she suggests, I like to avoid nut flours, so in place of almond flour I used brown rice flour, and she calls for tapioca starch which I do not have on hand, so I used corn starch.

The result is fantastic. Stamp of approval.

Mix together:

1c sorghum flour

1c corn starch

1/2c brown rice flour

1c light brown sugar (I used regular organic cane sugar)

1t ground ginger

1t cinnamon

1/4t sea salt

1 1/4t xanthan gum

1t baking soda

Cut in 1/2c shortening, and then add 1/3c unsulphured molasses.

Stir in 4T of warm water (the original recipe calls for coconut milk, could also use rice or hemp milk).

The dough will appear crumbly but should stick together when pressed. Split the dough in half, wrapping each in plastic wrap, and put in the freezer to cool until it’s firm. Roll the dough out to about a 1/4 inch thickness and use a cookie cutter to cut the cookies, placing them on an ungreased baking sheet, and into the oven for 7 to 10 minutes at 350.

The amount of time you leave the cookies in will determine how crunchy/soft they will be. They do harden quite a bit after they cool, so if you like them soft I’d suggest cutting them a bit thicker and taking them out after 7 minutes.

Enjoy! (would go quite well with a chai).

Leave a Reply

