Skip to content
March 3, 2011 / Hannah

Being

I’ve always liked the time before dawn because there’s no one around to remind me who I’m supposed to be, so it’s easier to remember who I am” – Storypeople

Before the day awakes, to drink from the cup in divine communion, a binding together: Today, breath of life, I commit myself to you and you to me. We shall be together, this day and I, and in this moment here before time begins, it shows me my self, being before doing, in the act of eucharist.

And then to “venture all upon a throw”, to join my fellow beings and see what comes out as we “do” together. For we all do out of our being. We walk along together, in communion with the day. I love communion, the binding together and remembering. Eucharist comes from the Greek meaning “thanksgiving” or “grateful”. Grateful to venture into life together, with the earth as it breathes the old and new, with each other, with Him. Offering the bread and wine to one another as to the earth, communion of a new covenant: a promise of newness to us in this day, of brotherhood to one another, of renewal and reconciliation to the earth.

We may only offer this eucharist to earth and brother when we allow ourselves the grace of being. For what can we offer but what we have? And we have everything. A rich inheritance is already ours. The elder brother in the parable made the mistake of forgetting that he was a son with access to his entire inheritance. All our Father has is ours. All blessing to give, and a covenant to steward, a covenant made and remembered through eucharist. So pass and receive the covenant cup of thanksgiving as one who offers their life to share and receives from the ones you share it with.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Kris / Mar 9 2011 5:47 am

    Hey I was just curious what Storypeople is. I googled it and got different stuff. i never knew eucharist was thanksgiving that’s so cool!

Leave a Reply

