Skip to content
June 26, 2009 / Hannah

of trees and things.

I think reading Fitzgerald makes me prose-y, which is kind of fun…

 

Visions of running up to the edge of some gaping

rift in the world’s surface, dusty and darkly deep.

Take a few steps back and examine my surroundings.

Examine? no, study.

It, the sharply falling cliff

right there,

appears to have no end, no beginning.

It’s unsettling.

 

One more step back.

Vision from somewhere outside my self, some special effect,

like a telescope lens

and the crevice begins to look like a crack in the bark of a tree:

spreading as the tree’s growth rips it open.

 

And it’s growing. 

Bright green leaves will shoot forth from the outer shell of

brittle wood: exposed to rain as to sun.

The sun spurs growth, growth is good.

It pulls me apart.

 

The tree is the tree (is the tree is the tree…)

Repeat.

Every day of my life either sunshine or rain

Just the same

Is the tree. 

 

Infinite wonder at the infinite

just to comprehend

I Am. 

Is the tree.

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. crickl's nest / Jun 27 2009 4:58 am

    It’s beautiful and full of symbolism. I can figure out some of it, but not all. And that is good writing, leaving them wondering and thinking about it. Don’t you think so?

    Keep writing. =)

  2. Taylor / Jun 27 2009 7:31 am

    wow that was beautiful!!! I loved it!!!

  3. Grandma / Jun 27 2009 5:15 pm

    You do a beautiful job of writing about your thoughts. I really understand a great love of mountains and trees. Read my blogs. They are under bloggy love on the side of crickl’s nest. It is called Bee’s in My Bonnet. Do you ever think about I Cor. 2;9 – 16? Our thoughts are His thoughts. Also, We have the mind of Christ. That is awesome! My thoughts are with you, Love, Grandma

  4. krisdohse / Jul 10 2009 4:25 am

    ok well your getting a complement anyways, cause this is great.

  5. theagapelife / Jul 12 2009 9:19 pm

    thanks guys 🙂

  6. worldpeacebeginsinthebackseat / Jul 19 2009 2:32 am

    i think alaska has been awfully good for you:) …maybe its all your introspective thinking. love this.

Leave a Reply

