Skip to content
October 9, 2008 / Hannah

Trust

I’ve been thinking about trust this week. The thought appeared out of the blue, and I don’t think I’d ever thought about it in depth, what is trust? What makes us trust people? What is it that makes them trust us? Here’s what I’ve got so far. Comments are welcome. I’d love to know what makes you trust, and the way you respond when you feel trusted. 

So, I think we respond to and give trust in the same way, for the same reasons. Here’s an example I heard once.

There was a group of soldiers during some war who entered a building that held a group of civilians, huddling together on the floor scared half to death. The soldiers were there to get them out, to rescue them. The people on the floor were so afraid of the soldiers that they wouldn’t budge. One soldier had an idea, he got down on the floor with the people, huddling with them, holding them. In this way the people began to trust him enough to eventually follow him to safety. 

The soldier became trustworthy as he made himself like them, they began to relate to him as another human being behind the camo, despite the gun. I think one level of trust starts with our ability to relate. 

I think deeper levels of trust come as we see one another becoming vulnerable. Who can be vulnerable when there is no trust? And how can we trust without glimpsing things that are real, are trustworthy because they are real?

If trust is built by being real with each other, a lack of trust must be crippling. If I do not trust you, I am not allowing you to function as you could were you operating in the freedom of trust. If I feel I am not trusted I may not be able to be as I ought. 

In the same way, if I do not fully trust God, I’m not allowing Him to be in His full capacity in my life. I cannot experience all that I could were I to give that complete confidence. 

Trust is learned, there are levels and you cannot (usually) begin with the last one. It is learned through relationship. 

The bible uses the word trust when speaking about the heart. When Faith is spoken of it is more often in the form of action, something we exercise or use. I found that interesting… Also trust occurs almost always in the old testament and Faith almost always in the new. So, is faith more a way of life, trust a state of the heart? 

Would love to hear from you, let me know what you think.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. michele / Oct 20 2008 1:43 am

    thanks for trusting me with your new blog address. i have missed reading your thoughts. hope to see you in january!

  2. Vivian / Nov 1 2009 10:33 pm

    Astounding revelatios to relating being vulnerable with people and with God. How we cannot truly trust him if we are not completely vulnerable. Very intense write you are, im impressed and really pleased. You truly are inspirational and i love you humble meek spirit. God bless You, and thank you for being vulnerable and may God Bless You Richly.

    Love,
    Vivian

Leave a Reply

